Contact Us
Port Chester Daily Voice serves Port Chester, NY
Return to your home site


Port Chester Daily Voice serves Port Chester, NY

Port Chester HS Tri-M Music Society Inducts New Members

Twenty-three students joined the Port Chester High School Tri-M Music Honor Society.
Twenty-three students joined the Port Chester High School Tri-M Music Honor Society. Photo Credit: Contributed

PORT CHESTER, N.Y. -- The Port Chester High School Tri-M Music Honor Society inducted 23 new members at its annual ceremony on Monday, Nov. 3.

Tri-M, an acronym for “Modern Music Masters,” is an international music honor society for high school students, sponsored by the National Association for Music Education.

The 23 student inductees are: Tinu Alex, Brittany Bunjaporte, Jessica Ferretti, Elise Fober, Nancy Garcia, Ryann Gutierrez, Emily Hewlitt, Mesha Igbal, Emily Loiaconi, Alicia Margiotta, Erica Margiotta, Benedicta Olonilua, Leonard Pietrafesa, Yajaira Ramos, Kiara Reyes, Mikaela Roca, Hannah Rosenberg, Joshua Sam, Grace Simmons, Madeline Strauch, Julianne Tenefrancia, Rebecca Thomas and Sakina Zehra. Tri-M members have voted to award honorary membership to PCHS teacher and musical director/producer Josh Tenzer. Port Chester’s Tri-M Chapter, 1191, was founded in 2004 by students in the Advanced Placement music theory class, under the sponsorship of PCHS choral director and music teacher Linda Ventura. Students qualify for membership based on their combined academic and musical achievements, including participation in community and school performing groups or in music classes, including Music Theory I/II, Music Production, Harmony/AP Music Theory and IB Music. According to NAfME, Tri-M “is designed to recognize students for their academic and musical achievements, reward them for their accomplishments and service activities, and to inspire other students to excel at music and leadership.” Port Chester’s Tri-M students are active in community service, offering their assistance to district music teachers during school concerts and conducting fundraisers to assist music-related charities. Highlights of the evening’s ceremony included musical performances given by Emmalie Tello, Elizabeth Montemurro and Brooke Pietrafesa. The 2014-15 Tri-M Music Honor Society’s officers are: Emmalie Tello, president; Brooke Pietrafesa, vice president; Sonya Chandy, secretary; and John Montemurro, treasurer.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Port Chester Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Port Chester Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.